Area Rehearsals

Each school choir attends one of the area rehearsals with other school choirs to help with the rehearsal process, to provide feedback about progress and give give some objectives for school choir directors to work towards.

9.45am – 11.45am
12.45pm – 2.45pm
Monday, 10 September
Avonhead School
Avonhead School
Tuesday,  11 September
Avonhead School
Avonhead School
  Note different times for Shirley Boys’ High School
  9.30am – 11.30am 12.15pm – 2.15pm
 Wednesday, 12 September
Shirley Boys’ High School
Shirley Boys’ High School

When attending your Area Rehearsal, please make sure that you:

  • Book your transport early
  • Try to arrive well before the start time – getting everyone in in time will require your assistance and good will and 9.45am/12.45pm is the START time of the rehearsal
  • Ensure that your choir members bring their own copy of the Festival Song Book to the Massed Rehearsal.
  • Please provide a suitable number of supervisors for your choir, trained teachers where possible. The number of supervisors will depend of the size of your choir. As a guide…
Number of children in your choir Number of supervisors required
Up to 25 children 1, preferable 2, supervisors
26 – 50 children 2 supervisors
51 – 75 children 3 supervisors
76 – 100 children 4 supervisors
101+ children 5 – 6 supervisors

2018 Area Rehearsal allocations

Unfortunately, so many schools opted for Monday morning as their first choice, only 79% of schools were able to be accommodated with their first choice, but all those who missed their first choice received their second choice. In addition, we have accommodated all specific requests. Most rehearsals are at near maximum numbers, so if you do need to make a change, please arrange a mutual swap with a school of similar size, and then us know. Please DO NOT just change your rehearsal date by turning up on a different day!

Avonhead School, Monday, 10th September

9.45 – 11.45am

Beckenham School (41)
Burnside Primary School (40)
Canterbury Home Education (25)
Casebrook Intermediate School (30)
Cotswold School (45)
Diamond Harbour School (35)
Elmwood Normal School (51)
Fernside School (30)
Hurunui College (20)
Ilam School (60)
Kirwee Model School (40)
Rolleston School (60)
Sacred Heart School (42)
Somerfield Te Kura Wairepo (80)
St Patrick’s School (Kaiapoi) (28)
Wairakei School (30)

12.45 – 2.45pm

Avonhead School (75)
Cobham Intermediate School (130)
Fendalton Open Air School (40)
Heathcote Valley School (75)
Medbury School (45)
Our Lady of Assumption School (20)
Roydvale School (20)
St Margaret’s College (80)
St Teresa’s School (20)
Sumner School (40)
Thorrington School (30)
Villa Maria College (80)
Yaldhurst Model School (10)


Avonhead School, Tuesday, 11th September

9.45 – 11.45am

Broomfield School (25)
Cashmere Primary Te Pae Kererū (50)
Darfield School (25)
Dunsandel School (32)
Ellesmere College (12)
Halswell School (50)
Hillview Christian School (55)
Kirkwood Intermediate School (40)
Leeston School (35)
Lincoln Primary School (40)
Our Lady of Victories School (30)
Oxford Area School (15)
Prebbleton School (35)
Rangi Ruru Girls’ School (35)
Southbridge Primary School (25)
Spreydon School (28)
St Andrew’s College (40)
St Joseph’s School (Papanui) (40)
St Joseph’s School (Rangiora) (20)
Westburn School (65)

12.45 – 2.45pm

Amuri Area School (25)
Ashburton Borough School (40)
Bamford School (40)
Bluestone School (24)
Breens Intermediate School (40)
Catholic Cathedral College (25)
Christchurch South Intermediate School (100)
Clearview Primary School (50)
Cust School (25)
Emmanuel Christian School (35)
Harewood School (23)
Hillmorton High School (25)
Merrin School (30)
Middleton Grange School (90)
Russley School (60)
Waihi School (41)
West Melton School (30)


Shirley Boys’ High School, Wednesday, 12th September

9.30 – 11.30am

Christ The King School (40)
Leithfield School (25)
Lyttelton Primary School (25)
Mt Pleasant School (45)
Opawa School (30)
Ouruhia Model School (20)
Queenspark School (30)
Redcliffs School (47)
Rudolf Steiner School (32)
Selwyn House School (69)
South New Brighton School (30)
St Albans School (45)
St Francis of Assisi Catholic School (40)
St Martins School (45)
St Michael’s Church School (26)
Waiau School (15)
Waitākiri School (25)
West Eyreton School (30)

12.15 – 2.15pm

Banks Avenue School (30)
Bromley School (30)
Cheviot Area School (15)
Chisnallwood Intermediate School (40)
Hanmer Springs School (20)
Heaton Normal Intermediate School (50)
Hoon Hay School (45)
Linwood North School (40)
Mairehau School (45)
New Brighton Catholic School (25)
Paparoa Street School (40)
Parkview School (25)
Pegasus Bay School (25)
Shirley Primary School (33)
St James School (23)
St Mark’s School (53)
St Mary’s School (22)